Marketing: Part 2

These books contain an associative reasoning extravaganza and are guaranteed to make you smarter!”

“Cognitive dissonance hurts, but that is the price for mind expansion! (safe for teens).”

Maybe I could create an offshoot of an existing pseudoreligion.
These books aren’t anti-religion, they are anti-fnord and anti-scientism – a religious form of meaningless science”

“This oppositional posture is in line with the SubGenius principle of ‘slack’, but in contrast to the deep irony of the original incarnation of the fake church, this offshoot will herald the end of postmodernism with a refreshing and powerful current of sincerity which re-fuses the fragmented psyche of our age.”

For the sake of showmanship and finding a target audience, at times, I would pretend to be a medium channeling Margaret Cavendish from the 1600s and I would introduce this character at Society for Creative Anachronisms festivals where I would hold lively debates with world experts in flat-earth cosmology and phlogiston.

For other events, there would be a 1950s style costume for when the medium (me) is channeling the SubGenius’ wife, Connie.

Some days, I might channel Nina Hagen

But first, I’d need transportation and housing (perhaps coupled with product endorsement – SoyDog?):

and I’d need a mission statement,

and merch

As I tour around from college campus to off-beat festival, I’d have one goal in mind:

Get Jordan Schlansky to review my books. If that happened, I’d consider my mission complete. Jordan is so great.

But how would I feel about life, the universe, and everything after I had conquered this beast of a dream? Equanimity? https://youtu.be/qCTMq7xvdXU

Billie’s song
 I had a dream
I got everything I wanted
Not what you'd think
And if I'm being honest
It might've been a nightmare
To anyone who might care

Thought I could fly (fly)
So I stepped off the golden, mm
Nobody cried (cried, cried, cried, cried)
Nobody even noticed
I saw them standing right there
Kinda thought they might care (might care, might care)

I had a dream
I got everything I wanted
But when I wake up, I see
You with me
And you say, "As long as I'm here
No one can hurt you
Don't wanna lie here
But you can learn to
If I could change
The way that you see yourself
You wouldn't wonder why you're here
They don't deserve you"

I tried to scream
But my head was underwater 

Underwater, deep in the unconscious mind is where the magic happens. That is what writing my book taught me.

Here is a link to the source of the cover image.

3 thoughts on “Marketing: Part 2

  1. Argg, this is so good! Of course I was fascinated by the subgenius meme, it came out during my prime years. I have a perhaps unwarranted contempt for modern music, but I see my deliberate ignoring of Eilish is misguided. Now, this has inspired me with yet another story idea, so I will now blog something with your name in the title, which I will probably trash in a couple of days. Nina Hagen!!!! My heroine (along with Pussy Riot and Kim Deal and…..too many others to put in a comment). You weren’t even born yet when I fell in love with Nina Hagen.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, and Debora Iyall from Romeo Void, and Debbie Harry from Blondie

    Liked by 2 people

  3. siouxsie sioux and lena horne

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close