Marketing: Part 5

I know that my novel is campy, but I’m not sure that I know what camp is, so I consulted an expert on camp: Natalie Wynn.

I will never be this cool.

Apparently, there are two kinds of camp: the self-aware kind and the naive kind and I’m not sure which of these categories I fall into.

While I was writing my books, I wasn’t fully aware that they were campy, but after looking at them with some distance, I can see the camp. I think that would put them squarely in the category of naive camp.

This is an important distinction because self-aware camp is often cowardly and offensive — as when a hipster deliberately wears ugly clothes in an attempt to be cool. Naive camp is more authentic and interesting, but it often involves disgust with the author.

So, if I want my camp to fly, I need people to love-hate me for being so stupid and naive to create such a weird book.

Ironically enough, that is how I feel about my book, so I’m certain that it qualifies as naive camp. When I wrote it, I was just letting it flow from my crazy inner child and not thinking very hard about the effect my words would have on anyone but myself.

They say that an author should write to please herself, but this isn’t going to convince anyone else that the book is worthwhile. That is where marketing comes in.

I’ve perhaps made a mistake by casting aside my 20 years of physics training and diving into the pool of unknown authors. After all, I’m not just another teenager doing her first NaNoWriMo.

I’m not grape juice spilled on the factory floor. I’m a fine, port wine that has been aged for 20 years. Strong stuff. Highly intoxicating, but not for everyone.

If I want my fiction to be read, I need to be famous first and since I do not have the YouTube skills of Ms. Wynn, I will try to make myself famous as a *gulp* pop-scientist.. a detestable lot.

On the other hand, I’m not sure if people can handle my brand of pop-science. I dig and dig and keep digging in a language that scientists have often trained themselves to forget.

People are mentally overloaded and have no spare capacity for independent thought. The internet is where they come to gather opinions like so many Easter eggs. They don’t want to dig a hole to China.

Tja. Read these people’s reviews. Maybe I am in no position to judge my own work. Some people seem to like it.

Or, check out some of my more creative marketing ideas.

Or, check out some classic camp.

Zardoz!

I’m not actually sure if this film was camp. I think it was a serious film that went over the top and that is sort of what I tried to do with my book. I wanted to express serious ideas but go way too far with them, stretching them into comic or cosmic absurdity.

For a reading of this post in my voice, click above!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close